Minor Program in City and Regional Planning

City Planning is closely interrelated with a wide range of disciplines and fields of knowledge, extending from engineering sciences to sociology, history, architecture, law, economics, and political sciences. The Minor Program in City Planning aims to familiarize students from other but related disciplines with the idea of planning and to equip them with a degree of sensitivity towards urban related issues.

The program is, in principle, open to all students from any department of METU and consists of two must courses and four electives to be chosen from the following lists of courses. Successful completion of these courses grants students with a Minor Diploma in City Planning, but does not entitle them to the right to exercise the profession.

Minor Program in City Planning

Compulsory Courses:

Two courses must be selected from the following list of compulsory courses offered by the department.

CRP111 Introduction to City and Planning (Fall Semester)
CRP105 Origins of Urbanism and the Process of Urbanisation (Fall Semester)
CRP242 Urban Geography (Spring Semester)
CRP372 Planning Theory (Spring Semester)


Elective Courses:

Additional four courses must be selected from the following list of electives offered by the department.

CRP211 The City in History I (Fall Semester)
CRP212 The City in History II (Spring Semester)
CRP333 Introduction to Urban Design (Fall Semester)
CRP341 Urban Economics (Spring Semester)
CRP351 Urban Transport Planning (Fall Semester)
CRP382 Legal and Administrative Aspects of Planning (Fall Semester)
CRP392 Urban Conservation Planning (Spring Semester)
CRP404 Contemporary Issues in City and Regional Planning (Spring Semster)
CRP407 Principles and Approaches of Ecology in Planning (Spring Semester)
CRP409 Urban Politics (Fall Semester)
CRP418 The Theory of Economic and Spatial Development (Spring Semester)
CRP470 Principles of Housing (Spring Semester)
CRP495 Urban Political Analysis (Fall Semester)